infosAraki: a brief note

 

Resources :

a All available resources here

 

The geographic and social context of Araki

 

Vanuatu

Araki language is spoken in a small, round, rocky island officially called Araki (Daki in the vernacular); it is just three miles off the southern shores of Espiritu Santo, which is the largest island of the country. Vanuatu, formerly the New Hebrides, is an independent Republic of the South Pacific [Map 1]; it is mainly populated by Melanesian people, who settled there about three thousand years ago.

The archipelago of Vanuatu is famous for its linguistic density, one of the highest in the world: more than a hundred distinct languages are spoken in its eighty islands, for an overall population of less than 200,000 [Map 2]. They all belong to the Oceanic group of Austronesian languages, and are often designated as ‘Melanesian’ languages, though this label corresponds to more than one genetic sub­group. More precisely, Araki belongs to the set of languages which Clark (1985) labelled "North and Central Vanuatu". Beside these vernacular languages, all Ni-Vanuatu can speak the English-based pidgin Bislama; but this lingua franca is mainly used in the two towns of the country, Port-Vila and Luganville, and seldom in rural areas.

 

oceania
Map 1. Location of Vanuatu inside the Pacific Ocean
The largest island of this archipelago is Santo I., to which Araki is closest.

 

vanuatu
Map 2 Vanuatu
The Republic of Vanuatu consists of more than a hundred distinct languages,
all belonging to the Oceanic subgroup of the Austronesian family.

Araki, a dying language to up

Former figures recorded up to eighty (Tryon and Charpentier 1989) or even one hundred and five (SIL 1983) speakers of Araki; but they are evidently overestimated. An in-depth sociolinguistic survey of the island (Varisipite and Bogiri-Vari 1998) showed that though thirty four people claimed to speak Araki, the majority of them are not fluent. In reality, there appears to have been a steady decrease in the number of speakers over the last three or four genera­tions: as a consequence, there are nowadays hardly fifteen speakers, who can understand and speak Araki fluently. Most of them were born between the 1920s and the early 1960s, which means that this language ceased to be used daily, in most families of the island, at least fifty years ago.

Fluent speakers of Araki: official figures vs. our estimate to up

source island population speakers, official speakers, our estimate year
Miller 1990 103 (103) (103) 1897
S.I.L. (105) 105 45 ? 1983
Tryon & Charp. 112 80 30 ? 1989
Bogiri-Vari 121 34 15 1999

 

Araki is no longer used in public, but only in a domestic context. This can explain why the language has survived in some families more than in others: e.g. Lele Moli's ten children, and even some of his grand­children who lived with him, can still speak the language fairly well; but this extension to three generations is not usually found in other family clans.

 

santo
Map 3. Araki and its mainland Santo
Araki is a small island located south of Santo I.,
in Vanuatu. A famous myth tells how Araki moved from Hog Harbour
to its current location, near Tangoa and Elia (see text).

The alphabet of Araki, with corresponding phonemes to up

araki

Conventions for word-to-word literal translations to up

1/2/3S first / second / third person singular LOC Locative preposition
2/3P second / third person plural NEG negation
1ex first person exclusive (plural) NP noun phrase
1IN first person inclusive (plural) NUM human numeraliser
...:I Irrealis mood clitic (e.g. 1EX:I) OBL oblique preposition
...:R Realis mood clitic (e.g. 1EX:R) PERS personal nominaliser
3:R third person realis, sg/pl PFT Perfect aspect
ANA anaphora PL plural marker
ASS assertive (on deictics) POc Proto Oceanic
COM comitative suffix POSS general possessive classifier
CST construct suffix PRG progressive aspect
DETR detransitiviser PROH Prohibitive / ‘lest’
DRINK classifier for drink possession REL relativiser
DX deictic (of grade 1, 2, 3) RES resultative auxiliary (+ adjectives)
DUP reduplication of the radical SEQ Sequential / Future aspect
ECON classifier for economical possession SUG Suggestive
FOOD classifier for food possession TR transitivising suffix
INT intensifier for some adjectives    

References and links to up

François, Alexandre. 2002. Araki : A disappearing language of Vanuatu. Pacific Linguistics, 522. Canberra: Australian National University. xx + 355 pp.

Click here for more information on this book.
Have a look at the Ethnologue Web's explanations on the language of Araki: click here.

The Araki texts to up

hear A myth of origin: the island of Araki to texts
Vanuatu, Espiritu Santo, Luganville, 1997, Moli Lele, Alexandre François

This myth tells how the island of Araki, which used to be near Hog Harbour (north-east of the island of Santo), decided once to migrate along the coast of Santo island, and eventually came to settle in its current day location, south of Santo. According to this myth, the island took with it the women of Hog Harbour; this is an interesting clue towards interpreting this story on historical grounds. The modern population of Araki is represented as descending from a former human group who would have lived on (or closer to) the eastern coast of Santo; after some period of good political relations - and especially women-exchanging traditions - with the people of Hog Harbour, that group would have left the mainland, and eventually populated the island of Araki. Other interpretations are possible, however, and the question may well be solved with the help of historical linguistics or archeology.

hear The Rat, the Hawk and the Octopus to texts
Vanuatu, Espiritu Santo, Luganville, 1997, Moli Lele, Alexandre François

This tale is a long, pleasant narration of Mr Rat's misadventures with his fellow creatures: first, with animals of the air and especially the Hawk (Circus approximans); and then animals of the sea, above all the Octopus. This story consists of several parts: [1] the Rat is paddling in his canoe, but several birds harass him, wanting to embark with him (this gives the tale its song); the boat nearly sinks. [2] while on the boat, the Rat steals a piece of yam belonging to the Hawk; the Hawk takes his revenge by making the boat sink. [3] the Rat swims to escape death, and asks for the help of a shark, of the Turtle, of the Dolphin, and finally the Octopus accepts to carry him. But when the Octopus realises the Rat is laughing at him, he tries to kill him. [4] the last part is an etiological reflection about how this story accounts for nowadays rats and octopuses. We believe this version probably mingles more than one traditional plot: in particular, the first part [1] is a crescendo which should naturally result in the boat sinking, but the episode of the hawk [2] brings in a new suspense; finally, the story with the octopus could form a whole tale per se. The result of this assortment is a pleasant, poetic and lively tale, in which each animal is endowed with its own human-like psychology and world. The personification of animals is patent in the many details of the story (e.g. the rat is going to have lunch with his Mum, or the birds threaten him with telling everything to their Dad when he comes back home), but it is also visible linguistically, through their genitive and object marking.

<

hear How the Village of Sope was Exorcised to texts
< Vanuatu, Araki I. South Espiritu Santo, 1998, Moli Sohe, Alexandre François

This holy story tells how a village (now Sope) in Araki was released from the spell of a devil, by a Christian Pastor called Sope. This devil used to hide in a hollow tree close to the road, and would kill people by just dropping some of his poisonous rain water kept in the tree. This early missionary, who belonged to the T.T.I. (Tangoa Training Institute) Bible college on Tangoa, was one of the first Presbyterians who came to Araki to fight the 'dark ages' of paganism, at the end of the nineteenth century. He freed the place from its heathen fears and taboos, bringing the Christian word of God. The village of Sope was named after him.

hear Hunting for Coconut Crab to texts
Vanuatu, Araki I. South Espiritu Santo, 1998, Ropo, Alexandre François

It is the story of an evil spirit, who changed himself into a coconut crab and played a bad trick on a couple of men who were precisely looking for coconut crabs. That is when the hunter becomes the prey. Following widespread beliefs in the area, the worst thing with devils is their ability to transform themselves into anything they like, either a person or an animal, to get closer to their victims; this is how they 'lie' to people. The scene takes place in Rahuna, a spot in the western bush of Araki, where coconut crabs abound. This hunting activity is still popular on the island, since this animal is renouned for its taste.

Fiche technique sur l'arakia

 

Ressources :

a Accès à toutes les ressources

 

Le contexte social et géographique de l'araki

 

Vanuatu

L'araki est parlé dans une minuscule île, ronde et rocheuse, officiellement appelée Araki (les habitants l'appellent Daki) ; elle est à seulement trois "miles" des côtes sud de Espiritu Santo, la plus grande île du territoire. Vanuatu, anciennement Nouvelles-Hébrides, est une république indépendante du Pacifique Sud [carte 1], peuplée principalement par des Mélanésiens qui s'y installèrent il y a environ trois mille ans.

L'archipel du Vanuatu est très connu pour sa densité linguistique, l'une des plus élévées au monde : plus de cent langues différentes sont parlées sur quatre-vingts îles par moins de 200 000 habitants [carte 2]. Toutes ces langues appartiennent au groupe océanique des langues Austronésiennes et sont souvent appelées langues "mélanésiennes", bien que cette appellation corresponde à plusieurs groupes génétiques. L'araki appartient plus précisément à l'ensemble de langues que Clark (1985) a dénommé "Vanuatu Nord et Centre". À côté de leur langue maternelle, tous les habitants du Vanuatu parlent le pidgin bislama, de base anglaise ; mais cette lingua franca n'est majoritairement utilisée que dans deux villes, Port-Vila et Luganville, et rarement en zone rurale.

oceania
Carte 1. Localisation du Vanuatu dans l'océan Pacifique
La plus grand île de l'archipel est Santo ; c'est la plus proche d'Araki.

 

vanuatu
Carte 2 Vanuatu
La république du Vanuatu est constituée de plus de cent langues différentes,
appartenant toutes au sous-groupe Océanique de la famille Austronésienne.

L'araki, une langue en train de disparaître to up

Le nombre de locuteurs de l'araki a été donné par plusieurs auteurs : 80 (Tryon and Charpentier 1989) et même 105 (SIL 1983), mais ces chiffres ont été manifestement exagérés. Une étude sociolinguistique en profondeur de l'île (Varisipite and Bogiri-Vari 1998) montre que bien que 34 personnes affirment parler l'araki, la majorité d'entre eux ne l'utilisent pas habituellement. En fait, il y a eu une baisse importante du nombre de locuteurs depuis trois ou quatre générations, ce qui fait qu'il n'y a actuellement pas plus de quinze locuteurs qui comprennent et parlent araki couramment. La plupart d'entre eux sont nés entre 1920 et 1960, ce qui signifie que cette langue a cessé d'être utilisée au quotidien, dans la plupart des familles de cette île, il y a une quinzaine d'années.

Nombre de locuteurs : les chiffres officiels face à notre estimation to up

source population de l'île locuteurs, chiffre officiel locuteurs, notre estimation année
Miller 1990 103 (103) (103) 1897
S.I.L. (105) 105 45 ? 1983
Tryon & Charp. 112 80 30 ? 1989
Bogiri-Vari 121 34 15 1999

 

L'araki n'est plus utilisé en public mais seulement dans un contexte privé. Cela explique pourquoi la langue a survécu dans certaines familles et pas dans d'autres. On le voit, par exemple, avec les dix enfants de Lele Moli et même avec certains des petits-enfants qui vivent avec lui : tous parlent très bien l'araki. Mais cette pratique étendue à trois générations est peu fréquente dans les autres clans familiaux.

 

santo
Carte 3. Araki et l'île principale, Santo
Araki est une petite île située au sud de Santo, au Vanuatu.
Un mythe très connu raconte comme Araki s'est détachée de Hog Harbour
pour atteindre sa position actuelle, près de Tangoa et d'Elia (voir texte).

L'alphabet de l'araki avec correspondance des phonèmes to up

araki

Conventions pour la traduction en mot-à-mot to up

1/2/3S first / second / third person singular LOC Locative preposition
2/3P second / third person plural NEG negation
1ex first person exclusive (plural) NP noun phrase
1IN first person inclusive (plural) NUM human numeraliser
...:I Irrealis mood clitic (e.g. 1EX:I) OBL oblique preposition
...:R Realis mood clitic (e.g. 1EX:R) PERS personal nominaliser
3:R third person realis, sg/pl PFT Perfect aspect
ANA anaphora PL plural marker
ASS assertive (on deictics) POc Proto Oceanic
COM comitative suffix POSS general possessive classifier
CST construct suffix PRG progressive aspect
DETR detransitiviser PROH Prohibitive / ‘lest’
DRINK classifier for drink possession REL relativiser
DX deictic (of grade 1, 2, 3) RES resultative auxiliary (+ adjectives)
DUP reduplication of the radical SEQ Sequential / Future aspect
ECON classifier for economical possession SUG Suggestive
FOOD classifier for food possession TR transitivising suffix
INT intensifier for some adjectives    

Références et liens to up

François, Alexandre. 2002. Araki : A disappearing language of Vanuatu. Pacific Linguistics, 522. Canberra: Australian National University. xx + 355 pp. (présenté ici)

Pour savoir ce que le site de l'Ethnologue donne comme informations sur la langue araki, cliquer ici.
Pour trouver plus d'informations (dictionnaire, photos...) sur le site d'A. François, voir ici.

Textes araki to up

aMythe d'origine : l'île d'Araki to texts
Vanuatu, Espiritu Santo, Luganville, 1997, Moli Lele, Alexandre François

Ce mythe raconte comment l'île d'Araki, qui se trouvait à côté de Hog Harbour (au nord-est de l'île de Santo), décida un jour de partir le long des côtes de l'île de Santo pour finalement s'installer à son emplacement actuel, au sud de Santo. Toujours selon le mythe, l'île emporta les femmes de Hog Harbour. C'est un indice intéressant qui permet de comprendre ce récit en s'appuyant sur des bases historiques. La population actuelle d'Araki est considérée comme descendant d'un ancien groupe humain ayant vécu sur (ou près de) la côte est de Santo ; après un certain temps de bonnes relations – et spécialement d'échanges de femmes – avec la population de Hog Harbour, ce groupe aurait quitté la grande île et peuplé l'île d'Araki. D'autres interprétations sont néanmoins possibles et la question pourrait être résolue grâce à la linguistique historique ou à l'archéologie.

aLe Rat, le Faucon et la Pieuvre to texts
Vanuatu, Espiritu Santo, Luganville, 1997, Moli Lele, Alexandre François

Ce conte est un long et agréable récit des mésaventures du Rat en compagnie d'autres animaux : d'abord des créatures vivant dans l'air et spécialement le Faucon (Circus approximans), ensuite des créatures marines et surtout la Pieuvre. Cette histoire comprend plusieurs parties : [1] Le Rat rame dans sa pirogue mais plusieurs oiseaux le harcèlent pour embarquer avec lui (thème à l'origine du chant) ; le bateau est sur le point de couler. [2] Sur le bateau, le Rat vole un morceau d'igname au Faucon ; le Faucon se venge en faisant couler le bateau. [3] Le Rat nage pour échapper à la mort et demande l'aide d'un requin, de Tortue, du Dauphin, et enfin de la Pieuvre qui accepte de le transporter. Mais quand la Pieuvre se rend compte que le Rat se moque d'elle, elle essaie de le tuer. [4] La dernière partie est une réflexion étiologique sur comment cette histoire considère aujourd'hui le rapport entre les rats et les pieuvres. Nous pensons que cette version mêle probablement plus d'une trame traditionnelle : la première partie, en particulier, a un crescendo qui devrait aboutir obligatoirement au naufrage du bateau, mais l'épisode du faucon apporte un nouveau rebondissement ; en fin de compte, le récit avec la pieuvre pourrait former une histoire à lui seul. Le résultat de cet ensemble est un récit agréable, poétique et très vivant, dans lequel chaque animal est investi par son équivalent humain. La personnification des animaux est évidente dans de nombreux détails de l'histoire (par exemple le rat qui déjeune avec sa Maman ou les oiseaux qui l'effraient en racontant tout à leur Papa quand ce dernier rentre à la maison), mais elle est aussi perceptible au niveau linguistique, au travers du génitif et du marqueur de l'objet.

aLe désenvoûtement de Sope to texts
Vanuatu, Araki I. South Espiritu Santo, 1998, Moli Sohe, Alexandre François

Ce récit religieux raconte comment un village (actuellement Sope) d'Araki fut délivré d'un maléfice du démon par un pasteur chrétien du nom de Sope. Le diable avait l'habitude de se cacher dans un arbre creux au bord de la route et tuait les gens en leur lançant de l'eau de pluie empoisonnée, conservée dans l'arbre. Ce tout-premier missionnaire qui appartenait au séminaire du T.T.I. (Institut d'enseignement de Tangoa), était l'un des premiers Presbytériens qui vinrent sur Araki pour combattre les "âges sombres" du paganisme, à la fin du XIXe siècle. Il libéra l'endroit des peurs païennes et des tabous, apportant la parole de Dieu. Le village de Sope prit son nom.

aLa chasse au crabe de cocotier to texts
Vanuatu, Araki I. South Espiritu Santo, 1998, Ropo, Alexandre François

C'est l'histoire d'un esprit malin qui se transforma en crabe de cocotier et joua un méchant tour à deux hommes justement à la recherche de crabes de cocotier. C'est ainsi que le chasseur se transforme en proie. Selon des croyances largement répandues à cet endroit, le pire avec les esprits diaboliques est leur capacité de se transformer en une personne ou un animal, en vue d'approcher leurs futures victimes ; c'est ainsi qu'ils "mentent" aux gens. La scène a lieu à Rahuna, un endroit particulier dans le "bush" à l'ouest d'Araki où les crabes de cocotier pullulent. Ce type de "chasse" est très apprécié sur l'île, car l'animal est apprécié pour ses qualités gustatives.